Village of Lombard

Village Hall 255 East Wilson Ave. Lombard, IL 60148 villageoflombard.org



Minutes

Tuesday, July 16, 2024 7:00 PM

This is a Special Meeting

Lombard Village Hall - Community Room

Lombard Historic Preservation Commission

Lyn Myers, Tom Fetters, Eileen Mueller, Stephanie Zabela, Bob Wardzala, Chelsey Alsobrook, Mandy vonBokern, Randy Pruyn, Sandi Smith, Heather Parris, and Leslie Sulla Ex-Officio Member - George Seagraves Board Liaison - Liz Brezinski Village Liaison - Tami Urish

Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

Acting Chairperson Myers called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Acting Chairperson Myers led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll Call

Present 7 - Stephanie Zabela, Chelsey Alsobrook, Randy Pruyn, Sandi Smith, Heather Parris, Leslie Sulla, and Lyn Myers

Absent 4 - Tom Fetters, Eileen Mueller, Bob Wardzala, and Mandy von Bokern

Also present: George Seagraves, Ex-Officio and Tami Urish, Planner I, Staff Liaison

Appoint an Acting Chairperson

On a motion made by Commissioner Sulla and seconded by Commissioner Parris to appoint Commissioner Myers as acting chairperson for the meeting with all in favor.

Public Hearings

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the meeting on April 16, 2024 were approved with noted changes. The motion was made by Commissioner Parris and seconded by Commissioner Smith with all in favor.

New Business

Unfinished Business

<u>240229</u>	Discussion of the Selection of Commission Officers - Information
	Only

Acting Chairperson Myers requested volunteers for the vacant officer position.

240130 Historic Preservation Commission - 2023 Annual Report

Request from the Lombard Historic Preservation Commission that the Village Board acknowledge receipt of the LHPC 2023 Annual Report.

Acting Chairperson Myers requested approval of the annual report for 2023.

A motion was made by Commissioner Smith, seconded by Commissioner Zabela to approve the 2023 Annual Report.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Stephanie Zabela, Chelsey Alsobrook, Randy Pruyn, Sandi Smith, Heather Parris, Leslie Sulla, and Lyn Myers

Absent: 4 - Tom Fetters, Eileen Mueller, Bob Wardzala, and Mandy von Bokern

240230 Historic Preservation Meeting Time

Change the time to 7:00 p.m. permanently starting January 2025.

On a motion made by Commissioner Parris and seconded by Commissioner Sulla to approve the permanent time change for the meetings to begin at 7 p.m. starting January 2025 from the current 7:30 p.m. start time.

The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 7 - Stephanie Zabela, Chelsey Alsobrook, Randy Pruyn, Sandi Smith, Heather Parris, Leslie Sulla, and Lyn Myers

Absent: 4 - Tom Fetters, Eileen Mueller, Bob Wardzala, and Mandy vonBokern

240231 Proclamation for Rita Schneider - Information Only

Acting Chairperson Myers directed staff to apply for the proclamation for October 17, 2024 with the draft language to be updated with further researched items conducted by Commissioner Sulla and Museum Director Costanzo.

Chairperson's Report

No Report

Local Landmark's Committee - Eileen Mueller

Acting Chairperson Myers suggested that the Architectural and Historical Surveys from 2014 - 2016 need to be updated. Commissioners discussed options. Commissioner Alsobrook suggested reviewing other towns and the State of Illinois that have interactive historic surveys on their website for format ideas. Commissioner Zabela suggested that property owners could submit photographs of their buildings or a grant could cover the suggested updates.

Heritage Award - Lyn Myers

No Report

Cemetery

Acting Chairperson Myers stated that a Boy Scout Troop cleaned up the cemetery grounds prior to the Lilac parade.

Ex-Officio Report - George Seagraves and Alison Costanzo

240140 Lombard Historical Society Report

Report attached included updates to the USA 250th Anniversary, Programs & Events, Annie-versary activities, and future exhibition of Charles Peck - Explorer, Artist and Visionary.

Planner's Report

Acting Chairperson Myers asked Ms. Urish for details of the financial report. Ms. Urish responded with contact information for the Village's Finance Department.

Adjournment

On a motion by Commissioner Parris and seconded by Commissioner Sulla and all were in favor, the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 p.m.